Uttarakhand: BJP appoints presidents in 10 districts


In Uttarakhand, the BJP has appointed presidents in 10 districts of the state. On Wednesday, the state election officer of BJP’s organizational election Balwant Singh Bhauryal has announced the election of 10 district heads.

Out of these, the chair of district heads has been retained in three districts. The announcement of the election of the district heads of Dehradun metropolis, US Nagar, Haridwar, and Uttarkashi is pending due to lack of consensus. They will be announced later.

On Wednesday evening, the party released a list of 10 district heads. Raghuveer Singh in Chamoli, Dinesh Uniyal in Rudraprayag, Vinod Raturi in Tehri and district president in Dehradun have been handed over to Shamsher Singh Pundir. At the same time, Pradeep Bisht was again elected the district president of Nainital. The party has given this opportunity to Virendra Valdiya in Pithoragarh.

While Sampat Singh Rawat in Pauri Garhwal, Shiv Singh Bisht in Bageshwar, Ravi Rautela in Almora and Deep Chandra Pathak in Champawat have been elected district presidents. According to BJP, state media in-charge, Dr. Devendra Bhasin, the election of the presidents of the remaining four districts will be announced soon.

No consensus reached, central leadership will decide
There has been a fierce battle between the contenders over the district heads of Dehradun metropolis, US Nagar, Haridwar, and Uttarkashi. Till late Tuesday night, a lot of efforts were made to reach a consensus among the top leaders of the party in the name of the claimants, but it did not materialize. According to sources, the ball has now been cast in the central leadership’s court. It is believed that it will take two to three more days for the four district heads to be announced.

The election of the state president may move forward
The election of the state president of the BJP is to be held by December 15, but due to the busyness of central observers, the election may move forward. According to a senior party leader, the central election observer, Shivraj Singh Chauhan may arrive on December 20. There is a buzz within the party that the state president may be elected on the same day.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here