Republic Day (26 January), India

The Republic Day of India

The Republic Day of India 

The Republic Day of India 26 January is marked with golden words in the history of India as a day to commemorate the establishment of the constitution of India as the Supreme law of the land.

It took a long period of 2 years, 11 months and 18 days and then finally came into force on 26th January 1950 replacing the Government of India act (1935) with a democratic government system.
However, there is a reason behind choosing this date i.e 26th January and the reason is that it was this date of the year 1930 when Declaration of Indian independence (Purna Swaraj)  was proclaimed by the Indian National Congress as opposed to the dominion status offered by the British Regime.
India got its freedom from the British rule on 15 August 1947 but was headed by King George VI till the constitution of India came into effect on 26th January 1950. The Indian constitution is considered as the longest written constitution of any country on earth. It lays down the various fundamental rights, directive principles, duties of citizens, etc. which were set by the drafting committee under the chairmanship of Dr. B.R Ambedkar.
Moreover, as the word ‘Republic’ itself suggests that it is for the public, imparting the general public the power to choose their own government who can assure the well-being of the state.
Every year, Republic Day 26 January is celebrated with great pride and enthusiasm throughout India. New Delhi is the capital of India conducts the greatest exuberance of this day as a grand parade is held there starting from Raisina Hill near the Rashtrapati Bhawan, along with the Rajpath, India Gate and ends to the Red Fort. It all starts after the hoisting of the tricolor flag. The parade showcases the diverse culture and social heritage of India and also its defense capability.
Entire India gets thrilled with patriotism and proudly fly their tricolor flag, sing the patriotic songs like ‘Vande Mataram’ and ‘Jana Gan mana’. Awards such as vir chakra, peramivir chakra, Ashok chakra, etc. are given to the braves and homage is paid to those who lost their lives in wars.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here