PM Modi can come to Kumaon University’s convocation, an inauguration of Vivekananda Peeth

Special things
This will be the first time in 47 years that the Prime Minister will come here for an event.
In 2011, former President APJ Abdul Kalam came to the university’s eleventh convocation.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi may come as the chief guest at the 16th convocation of Kumaon University to be held in November. There is an atmosphere of enthusiasm in the university from the positive response in this regard from the Prime Minister’s Office. The newly established Vivekananda Peeth will also be inaugurated by the Prime Minister at the convocation ceremony.
This time, it is proposed to give honorary degrees to Supreme Court Judge Justice DY Chandrachud, Chairman and Editor-in-Chief of India TV, Rajat Sharma and Senior Doctor of Shri Gangaram Hospital, Dr. Soumitra Rawat, Head of the Department of Gastroenterology Surgery.

Vice Chancellor of Kumaon University, Prof. KS Rana informed that the 16th convocation of the university will be held in Nainital in the second fortnight of November. He has had several rounds of talks in his PMO about inviting Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

A prime minister will arrive for the first time
Information sought in this regard has been provided by the PMO. After receiving positive signals from the PMO, preparations have been started to receive Modi. This will be the first time in 47 years since the establishment of Kumaon University in the year 1973 that the Prime Minister will come here for an event.

In 2011, former President APJ Abdul Kalam visited the eleventh convocation of the university. On other occasions, the Governor, Chief Minister and Education Minister have been coming to the convocation.

23 people have so far been awarded honorary degrees
Last year, NSA Ajit Doval and lyricist-writer Prasoon Joshi were awarded honorary degrees by Kumaon University. Apart from these, Dr. DD Pant, Ila Chandra Joshi, Bharat Ratna GB Pant posthumously, Prof. Krishna Joshi, literateur Shailesh Matiani, former Army Chief General BC Joshi, Prof. Deshbandhu Bisht, Lt. General GS Rawat, Former Union Minister Dr. Karan Singh, Former CM ND Tiwari, Former Governor BD Pandey, Lawyer Fali S. Nariman, Former Reserve Bank Governor C. Rangarajan, Dr. HC Pandey, Dr. RK Pachauri, Oncologist Prof. Honorary degrees have been conferred on 23 people including MC Pant, Mrinal Pandey, Himanshu Joshi, Chandi Prasad Bhatt.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *