Himalayan peaks named after Atal Bihari Vajpayee

Four Himalayan peaks were named after Former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee near Gangotri Glacier on Sunday.

A team of mountaineering from Nehru Institute of Mountaineering, who was flagged off by Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat, expedited from Dehradun on Oct 4. The team hoisted the National flag on each of the peaks: Atal-1, 2, 3 and 4, located near Sudarshan and Saifi peaks in Raktvan Valley. The expedition was jointly conducted by NIM and the tourism department.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *