BJP rules in ULB election

Politics In Uttarakhand

Five mayoral seats of the seven municipal corporations were won by BJP candidates while Congress manages to win two. Sunil Uniyal ‘Gama’ from BJP, was elected as the mayor of provisional state capital Dehradun, defeating his nearest rival Dinesh Agrawal of the Congress by a margin of more than 35,000 votes.

BJP candidates have received favor in other cities that include Rampal Singh in Rudrapur, Usha Chowdhry in Kashipur, Jogendra Pal Singh Rautela in Haldwani and Anita Mamgai in Rishikesh, who is elected for the first time. Congress candidates Hemlata Negi and Anita Sharma were elected mayors of Kotdwar and Haridwar respectively.

While BJP wins more seats of mayoral post and chairpersons of municipal councils and Nagar Panchayats, Independent candidates have won a maximum number of seats of councilors and ward members. Congress wins 25 seats of Mayoral posts.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here